CBS Watch! Magazine April 2014 – ‘The Vampire Diaries’ star Ian Somerhalder

The Vampire Diaries star Ian Somerhalder is featured in the April 2014 issue of CBS Watch! Magazine.

In the issue Ian talks growing up in Louisiana:

“I feel like I’ve lived 100 lives. I am a vampire,” the Louisiana native says between bites, thinking back to his boyhood growing up on the swampy shores of Lake Pontchartrain. “When you look out over the lake, you can see the city twinkling in the distance. I would think, ‘I’m safe ’cause I know that they’re over there.’ I associated New Orleans with vampires, always. My mom was a huge fan of Anne Rice and I knew all about the whole folklore with Marie Laveau, voodoo and vampires.”

He talks being a model early in his career:

“My mom used every dollar we had to send me to acting and modeling classes when I was 10. And then we would come live here for the summers. It was incredible, man. In the fashion business, if you’re a creative director or you’re a designer, it’s a very creative business and you can drive it. As talent in the fashion world, it’s significantly more vapid.”

He also talks his new TV project Years of Living Dangerously:

His work as an actor/advocate also earned him a spot as a correspondent on this spring’s seven-part documentary, Years of Living Dangerously. “Hands down it’s the most important thing I’ve ever worked on in my life,” he says, beaming. James Cameron and producer Jerry Weintraub send him and other familiar faces to cover the most pressing environmental stories facing us today. “It’s basically 60 Minutes meets Homeland, but it’s true,” Somerhalder explains.

The Vampire Diaries airs Thursdays at 8/7c on the CW. Years of Living Dangerously premieres April 13 at 10/9c on Showtime.

CBS Watch! Magazine April 2014 - 'The Vampire Diaries' star Ian Somerhalder

Photo Credit: Alice + Chris via CBS Watch! Magazine

Leave a Reply

